C&S Update

Hello everyone!

I’ve been working on Clouds and Sandwiches for about a week now, and I’m a little over 1/5 the way through writing the first draft. I’m actually getting pretty excited about it. I think it’s pretty cute so far and writing in a different format has been interesting.

This is also the first time I’ve made an outline for a book.

Now, I know you’re always supposed to make an outline and “it’s better for the book if you do that.” However, I’ve always felt that if I made an outline I had to stick to it. I’ve also had trouble in the past because I felt like I’d thought about the book too much before writing it. I was quickly tired of the story and characters.

But this time has been a pleasant surprise thus far. Only once I’ve felt that I had already written the story because, you know, an outline can include plot points. I felt that I was just expanding on those points.

I usually have a vague outline in my head of what I’m going to do. I figure out the beginning, the climax, and the ending and a few ideas in between everything. From there on it’s just whatever comes out of my brain at the time. Usually ideas tend to ooze out after I’ve banged my head on the keyboard a few times.

Anyway, this outline experience has been a good one. Currently I’d recommend using them if that works for you. Writer’s block only happens because you haven’t thought far enough ahead in the story.

Is there anything else you want to know about this new novel? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

